Richard LindstrOm, md

Medical Advisory Board, Chair

Dr. Lindstrom is the founder and attending surgeon of Minnesota Eye Consultants and an internationally recognized leader in corneal, cataract, refractive and laser surgery. He has been at the forefront of ophthalmology's evolutionary changes throughout his career, as a recognized researcher, teacher, inventor, writer, lecturer and highly acclaimed physician and surgeon.

After graduating Magna Cum Laude from the College of Liberal Arts at the University of Minnesota, Dr. Lindstrom completed his doctorate degree in medicine in 1972. He conducted research, residency and fellowship training in cornea at the University of Minnesota and affiliated hospitals and extended his anterior segment surgery fellowship training at Mary Shiels Hospital in Dallas and was a Heed Fellow in Glaucoma at University Hospital in Salt Lake City. In 1980, Dr. Lindstrom returned to the University of Minnesota, where he spent ten years on the faculty of the Department of Ophthalmology, the last two as a full professor and the Harold G. Scheie Research Chair. He continues as Adjunct Professor Emeritus, Chairman of the Vision Foundation, and Associate Director of the Minnesota Lions Eye Bank at the University of Minnesota. He entered private practice in 1989, and has led the growth and expansion of Minnesota Eye Consultants serving as managing partner for 15 years. He is also medical director of TLC Vision, Sightpath Medical, and Refractec. He is Chief Medical Editor of the USA and International editions of Ocular Surgery News, which reaches 82,000 ophthalmologists worldwide.

Dr. Lindstrom holds over 30 patents in ophthalmology and has developed a number of solutions, intraocular lenses and instruments that are used in clinical practices globally.


Choun-ki Joo, MD, MD

Medical Advisory Board

Dr. Joo is Professor of Ophthalmology at the Catholic University of Korea, Seoul. He  completed his research fellowship (1992-1994) of cornea and external diseases at  Washington University after finishing residency training (1988) in Korea.

Prof. Joo has a far-reaching reputation for his expertise and clinical interests in the field of cornea/external diseases, refractive and cataract surgery. He is a frequently invited lecturer at international meetings, and over the past five years has directed one of the most prestigious training programs for specialists in refractive surgery. Most recently, Prof. Joo served as Dean of the College of Medicine, where he oversaw the largest medical network in Korea with more than 860 professors providing relevant education to students in both basic and clinical medicine and eight affiliated hospitals including Seoul St. Mary's Hospital and a total of more than 5,700 hospital beds. He is also the Director of the Laboratory for Ophthalmology & Visual Science at the Catholic University.


theo seiler, mD, phd

Medical Advisory Board

Dr. Seiler is considered a pioneer of refractive surgery and he invented the corneal collagen cross linking procedure, which been has shown to strengthen the eye's clear surface through the application of riboflavin, a form of vitamin-B2, followed by treatment with ultraviolet light. He was also the first to perform the photorefractive keratectomy procedure in 1987. He is credited with being the first physician to treat a human eye using an excimer laser.

Dr. Seiler teaches general ophthalmology and is a specialist in corneal and refractive therapy, physiologic optics, lasers in ophthalmology, and anterior segment surgery. He studied medicine, mathematics, and physics at the Universities of Heidelberg and Berlin. In 1993, Dr. Seiler was named professor and chairman of the Department of Ophthalmology at Technische Universität of Dresden, which is a unique interdisciplinary center focusing on research and teaching. In 2000, Dr. Seiler assumed the position as professor and chairman of the Department of Ophthalmology at the University of Zurich in Switzerland. In October 2002, he founded the Institute for Refractive and Ophthalmic Surgery (IROC) in Zurich.


Robert Ritch, MD

Medical Advisory Board

Dr. Ritch holds the Shelley and Steven Einhorn Distinguished Chair in Ophthalmology and is Surgeon Director Emeritus and Chief of Glaucoma Services at the New York Eye & Ear Infirmary, New York City and Professor of Ophthalmology at The New York Medical College, Valhalla, New York. He has devoted his career to broadening our understanding of the underlying etiologies and mechanisms of glaucoma and innovation in its medical, laser, and surgical treatment. Dr. Ritch has co-authored or edited nine textbooks and over 1600 medical and scientific papers, book chapters, articles and abstracts. He has presented nearly 700 lectures worldwide, including 40 named lectures and has received over 40 awards and medals. He has trained over 140 clinical and research fellows, many of whom occupy academic positions worldwide. The international training program that he established at the New York Eye and Ear Infirmary has hosted over 60 International Council of Ophthalmology fellows and more than 100 observers from over 40 countries.


Giuliano Scarcelli, PHD

Scientific Advisory Board

Dr. Scarcelli is co-inventor of Intelon’s Brillouin Optical Scanner System (BOSS™) and is a Scientific Advisor to the company. He obtained his PhD in quantum optics from UMBC under Prof. Yanhua Shih and is currently an Associate Professor at the Fischell Department of Bioengineering at the University of Maryland. Before joining the University of Maryland, Dr. Scarcelli was at the Wellman Center for Photomedicine of Harvard Medical School for eight years, first as a postdoc in Prof. Yun's Lab, then as an instructor and assistant professor. He maintains a visiting faculty position at Harvard Medical School. Dr. Scarcelli's articles have been cited over a 1000 times and he is inventor of five patents. He has been the recipient of several awards such as the “Exceptional by example” award for outstanding PhD studies, the Tosteson Postdoctoral Fellowship, the Human Frontier Science Program Young Investigator Award, the NIH Quantitative Career Award, and the Harvard University “Teaching excellence” award. He was nominated “Top 40 under 40” by the Ophthalmology Times.